The members of the council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Bangladesh (ICAB) has elected AF Nesaruddin FCA as President and NKA Mobin FCA, Dr. Md. Salim Uddin FCA and Md Moniruzzaman FCA as Vice Presidents of the Institute for the year -2019, says a press release issued by ICAB.

Short profile of ICAB president:

Mr. A F Nesaruddin FCA is in public practice since 1998 and currently a senior partner of Hoda Vasi Chowdhury and Co., Chartered Accountants. He is an Independent Director and Chairman, Audit Committee of Singer Bangladesh Ltd, nominated Director of the Board of United Finance Ltd and Member, Khulna WASA. He is also a Member of the SAFA Committee to Study Fiscal Regimes and other statutory requirements of business in SAARC Countries. He served the Institute as the Vice-President (Education and Training) in 2015.

Prior to starting public practice in 1998, Mr. Nesaruddin served in senior executive positions of Duncan Brothers and associated companies. He also served for one year in an investment company in Saudi Arabia. He is an infrequent contributor to leading national dailies specially on taxation, corporate governance and other professional issues.

Earlier on 24 November 2018 the 20-member council of ICAB (18 members from Dhaka constituency and 2 from Chittagong constituency) was elected by the members of the Institute. The council constitutes the highest authority of ICAB leading the Institute and the profession.

The other elected council members are: Mohammed Humayun Kabir FCA, Adeeb Hossain Khan FCA, Kamrul Abedin FCA, Sabbir Ahmed FCA, Akhtar Sohel Kasem FCA, Mohammed Forkan Uddin FCA, Muhammad Farooq FCA, Md Shahadat Hossain FCA, Nasir Uddin Ahmed FCA, Maria Howlader FCA, Md. Abdul Kader Joadder ACA, Mahmudul Hasan Khusru FCA, Gopal Chandra Ghosh FCA, Noor-E-Khoda FCA, Dr. Md. Abu Sayed Khan FCA, Mahamud Hosain FCA from Dhaka constituency and Sidhartha Barua FCA, Md Salim Uddin FCA from Chittagong constituency.

In addition, the nine members of Dhaka Regional Committee (DRC), ICAB were also elected while five members of the Chittagong Regional Committee(CRC), ICAB were elected uncontested. Elected members of DRC are: Miltan Bepari FCA, A.H.M. Ariful Islam FCA, Md Abu Khair Hasanul Hasif Sowdagar FCA, Ziaur Rahman Zia FCA, Md Amran Hossan FCA, Mohammad Redwanur Rahman FCA, Anika Sultana FCA, Md Razib Hossain FCA and Md Selim Reza FCA, while members of CRC are: Subash Chandra Chowdhury FCA, Imran Abu Hasan FCA, Kamrul Islam FCA, Mohammed Abul Kashem FCA and Mohammad Shaheed FCA. As per bye-law 13(1) of ICAB Bye-Laws 2004, the Council-ICAB had constituted an Election Commission headed by AK Gulam Kibria FCA to conduct the election who was assisted by other member commissioners M. idris Ali FCA, Mohammad Solaiman, Qudrate Khuda FCA and Md. Showkat Hossain FCA.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts