Durdanto Dhaka have secured an unenviable record in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), suffering eight consecutive losses - the longest losing streak in league history.

The eighth defeat against Fortune Barishal mathematically eliminates them from playoff contention.

Batting first, Fortune Barishal posted a commanding 189/4. Half-centuries from Soumya Sarkar and Mahmudullah Riyad helped them secure a challenging total that eventually proved to be too good for Dhaka.

Dhaka's run chase stumbled early, losing both openers within the powerplay. Alex Ross (52) offered some mid-innings resistance, but Barishal's bowlers steadily chipped away.

Mohammad Saifuddin led Barishal's attack with three wickets, while Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Obed McCoy each took two. Dhaka's 40-run defeat confirms their fate, with even their remaining three matches unable to revive their playoff chances.

BPL will now move to Chattogram before returning to Dhaka for the final phase.

At this point, Rangpur Riders are at the top of the table with 12 points. Comilla Victorians and Chattogram Challengers are right behind them with 10 points each. Fortune Barishal are at fourth with eight points.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts