Bangladesh wicketkeeper-batter Mushfiuqr Rahim announced retirement from T20 Internationals. He announced his retirement through his social media page where he also said he would continue playing ODIs and Tests for Bangladesh and T20s at the domestic level.

The decision came after Bangladesh's shocking exit from the Asia Cup T20 where the Tigers failed to win any match and subsequently were out of the event right from the first round losing to Afghanistan and Sri Lanka.

Mushfiqur batted in both matches and failed to impress. He managed to score 1 against Afghanistan and 4 against Sri Lanka. His failure cost the matches for Bangladesh.

"I have been grateful to have you all beside me throughout my long career. Your support has been my inspiration during my highs and lows," Mushfiqur wrote on his social media. "Today, I am announcing my retirement from T20 Internationals. I will proudly continue to represent Bangladesh in Test and ODI formats. I am hopeful that I can bring success for our nation in these two formats."

Mushfiqur got his T20I cap in 2006 against Zimbabwe. The match was the first-ever T20I for both Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. Since then, Mushfiqur played 102 T20Is for Bangladesh and scored 1500 runs with six fifties. He was among only the three players who have played at least 100 T20Is for Bangladesh.

With Mushfiqur now retired, Shakib Al Hasan is now the only Bangladeshi player from Bangladesh's maiden T20I who is still active in the format at the international level.

The right-handed batter has some wonderful innings in T20Is, but he was never as consistent in T20Is as he is in ODIs and Tests. His best innings in T20Is is an unbeaten 72 off 35 balls against Sri Lanka in Colombo. At the same venue, he scored another unbeaten 72 off 55 balls against India. Both the innings were notched up in 2018.

"I will continue to take part in Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) and other franchise tournaments. Alhamdulillah. Thank you all. Allah Hafez," Mushfiuqr added in this retirement announcement.

Mushfiqur also led Bangladesh in 23 T20Is and won eight of them. He was Bangladesh's captain in two T20 World Cups- in 2012 and in 2014 with the latter was host by Bangladesh.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts