Former national team captains Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mushfiqur Rahim have congratulated Nurul Hasan Sohan on becoming Bangladesh's T20 captain for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Friday announced the squads for the tour where the Tigers will play a three-match T20I and three-match ODI series from July 30 to August 10.

Sohan replaced Mahmudullah Riyad as the T20 captain. Riyad had been leading the Tigers in T20s since February 2018. He failed to guide the team to T20 victories and could not perform well with the bat in the West Indies.

"Hard work is better than talent when talent refuses to work hard. Congratulations Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan on becoming the captain of the Bangladesh T20 squad. Wish you all the luck," Mashrafe wrote on his social media profile.

"Congrats to Sohan on becoming the new T20I captain for the Zimbabwe series. The young team has my full support and I strongly believe this team will do well in the upcoming series," Mushfqiur wrote on his social media page.

Sohan regularly leads Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, a 50-over format event at the domestic level of Bangladesh.

In his first assignment as the captain of Bangladesh, Sohan will have to face a tough challenge. He will not get the services of Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Riyad and Mushfiq.

Tamim recently announced his retirement from T20s. Riyad, Shakib, and Mushfiq have been rested for the T20 series.

The Bangladesh team is set to travel to Zimbabwe on July 26.

The T20I series will begin on July 30. The last two matches of the series will take place on July 31 and August 2. The first ODI will be played on August 5, and the other two matches on August 7 and 10.

Mushfiq will be part of the ODI team.

The ODI series of this tour is not part of the ICC World Cup Super League.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts