Renowned filmmakers Sohanur Rahman Sohan and Chhatku Ahmed have been elected as the new president and vice-president of the Bangladesh Film Directors Association, for the term 2021-2022.

Sohan received a total of 129 votes, defeating his nearest opponent Kazi Hayat who got 80 votes. The other candidate Shah Alam Kiran got 55 votes.

Chhatku Ahmed has been elected as the vice-president with 166 votes, while the newly elected deputy secretary general Kabirul Islam Rana got 162 votes.

Shaheen Sumon got elected as the secretary general from the panel of Sohan by getting 185 votes, defeating his opponents SA Haque Alik and Safi Uddin Safi who got 64 and 35 votes respectively.

The 2021-2022 election took place at Bangladesh Film Development Corporation (BFDC) on Friday. This time the election was participated by 361 voters, however, 272 of them finally voted. A total of 43 directors competed for 19 posts in the election.

The other elected members include Rokibul Islam Rokib as the organizational secretary, Mohammad Salahuddin as the secretary of finance, Noman Robin as the international and technological secretary, Shahin Kabir Tutul as the cultural and sports secretary and Anowar Siraji as the publicity, publications and offices secretary.

The newly elected 2021-2022 panel also anoounced ten other members including Zakir Hossain Raju, Palli Malek, Abdur Rahim Babu, Nur Mohamamd Moni, Masuma Tani, Mostafizur Rahman Babu, Salim Azam, Habibul Islam Habib, Saidur Rahman Said, and Shahadat Hossain Liton as the executive secretaries.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts